





The Alpine A390 marks Alpine’s second step in its plan to field four all-electric performance models by 2030, following the A290 hot hatch. Built in Dieppe, France on Renault’s AmpR Medium platform (shared underpinnings with the Megane E-Tech), the A390 is officially a “fastback” but functions as a five-seat, four-door, high-riding crossover — Alpine avoids the SUV label, though rivals like the Polestar 2, Kia EV6, and Porsche Macan Electric are its natural competitive set.
The basics
Two trims are offered. The Alpine A390 GT produces around 400 hp (295 kW) from a tri-motor setup — one wound-rotor synchronous motor up front, two permanent-magnet motors at the rear — with 0-62 mph in about 4.8 seconds. The range-topping GTS pushes output to roughly 470 hp (345 kW) and drops the 0-62 mph sprint to under 4 seconds, with a top speed near 138 mph versus 125 mph for the GT. Both draw from an 89 kWh battery, with the GT rated for about 345 miles of range and the GTS around 320 miles, reflecting the usual trade-off between power and efficiency. DC charging tops out at 150 kW on the GT and 190 kW on the GTS. UK pricing is expected to land around £60,000 for the GT and £70,000 for the GTS.
Design and character
Design is a strong point. The A390 borrows visual cues from across Alpine’s lineup — door panel details reminiscent of the A110, front lighting inspired by the Alpenglow concept, and aerodynamic touches (a sculpted hood blade, rear wheel air deflectors, a diffuser angle drawn from Le Mans prototypes) that are functional as well as stylistic. There’s even a small A110 silhouette hidden in the windscreen corner as an easter egg. Inside, the cabin leans upscale, with leather-look trim and supportive Sabelt seats.
On the road, reviewers who’ve driven the GTS describe genuinely quick, confidence-inspiring acceleration, aided by torque vectoring across the triple-motor layout and a steering-wheel-mounted overtake button that unlocks full power on demand. Alpine has also worked to differentiate the chassis from its Megane sibling — the track is widened and the suspension retuned for sharper handling, and in looser drive modes the rear end can be coaxed into a controlled, playful slide rather than feeling like a numb crossover. Track-oriented tech adds a further layer of appeal for enthusiasts: onboard telemetry can log lap data and sync to a phone app for post-drive analysis, aimed at owners who’ll actually take the car to track days.
Bottom line
The Alpine A390 is a capable, quick, and distinctively styled electric performance crossover that succeeds at making Alpine’s brand more accessible and practical, but it trades some of the sharper, more visceral character enthusiasts associate with the marque for everyday usability — and it enters a tough, well-populated segment at a premium price point.
| Full Model Name | Alpine A390 |
| Segment / Class | Compact electric performance crossover/fastback |
| Available Trims / Variants | GT, GTS |
| Powertrain Options | Tri-motor, all-wheel drive (both trims) |
| Base Price (USD) | ~£61,390 (GT); GTS estimated ~£70,000 |
| Availability Status | On sale; deliveries began 2026 |
| Markets Available | Europe (UK confirmed) |
| Brand / Manufacturer | Alpine (Renault Group) |
| Battery Capacity | 89 kWh |
| Range (WLTP/CLTC/EPA) | (WLTP) - GT: 555 km (345 mi); GTS: 515 km (320 mi) |
| DC Charging (Max kW) | GT: 150 kW; GTS: 190 kW |
| Charging Time (10–80%) | Under 25 minutes (GTS, fast charger) |
| AC Charging (Max kW) | 11 kW standard, 22 kW optional |
| Battery Warranty | Not publicly specified |
| Energy Consumption | Not officially published |
| Power Output (kW / hp) | GT: 295 kW / ~400 hp; GTS: 345 kW / ~470 hp |
| 0–100 km/h / 0-60 mph (seconds) The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | GT: 4.8 sec; GTS: under 4 sec (~3.9 sec) |
| Motor Configuration | 1 front (wound-rotor sync) + 2 rear (permanent magnet) |
| Torque (Nm) | Not officially published |
| Top Speed (km/h / mph) | GT: 201 km/h (125 mph); GTS: 222 km/h (138 mph) |
| Dimensions (L×W×H mm) | 4,615 × 1,885 × 1,532 mm |
| Trunk/Boot Capacity (L) | Not officially published (described as "roomy") |
| Body Style | 5-door sport fastback / crossover |
| Kerb Weight (kg) | ~2,120–2,200 kg (varies by source/trim) |
| Ground Clearance (mm) | Not publicly specified |
| Frunk/Bonnet Capacity (L) | Not confirmed |
| Sunroof | Not standard-confirmed; not mentioned in reviews |
| ADAS Features | Adaptive cruise control, lane-keeping/departure warning, AEB, blind-spot monitoring, driver attention monitor, surround-view camera |
| Autonomous Driving Level | Level 2 (driver assistance, not autonomous) |
| Crash Test Ratings | Euro NCAP: 4 stars (74% adult, 85% child, 80% pedestrian, 77% safety assist) |
| Over-the-Air (OTA) Safety Updates | Yes (OTA software updates supported) |
| Seating Capacity | 5 |
| Seat Material | Nappa leather / Alcantara (GT); Sabelt performance seats (GTS) |
| Wireless Charging | Not explicitly confirmed |
| Centre Screen (inches) | 12-inch portrait touchscreen |
| Mirror Link / Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | Wireless Apple CarPlay & Android Auto standard |
| Driver's Display (inches) | 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster |
| Head-Up Display (HUD) | Not confirmed as available |
| Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) | Yes (bi-directional, optional adapter) |
| Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) | Yes (via Mobilize Power service) |
| Over-the-Air Map Updates | Yes (Google Maps built-in, Android Automotive OS) |
| Headlight Type (LED/Matrix/Laser) | Matrix LED |
| Adaptive Headlights | Yes |
| Sound System Brand | Devialet |
| Speaker Count | 13 speakers |
| Navigation System | Built-in Google Maps (Android Automotive OS) |
| Face Recognition | Not confirmed |
| Fingerprint Sensor | Not confirmed |
| Remote Parking | Not confirmed |
| Official Dealer Network | Alpine dealer network (Europe) |
| Service Interval | Not publicly specified |
| Roadside Assistance | Not publicly specified |
| Data Source | Alpine reviews and specs from Top Gear, What Car?, Autocar, Wikipedia, EVKX.net, The EV Report (2025–2026) |
| Last Updated | September 2026 |
| Additional Notes | Some figures vary slightly by source (e.g., weight, power in bhp vs. hp); official Alpine spec sheet should be checked for final confirmation |
| Editor's Note | Several fields (torque, warranty, boot capacity) aren't yet publicly disclosed by Alpine — worth flagging as "TBC" if used in published content |
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct