







Dacia Spring Electric 2026 has spent the last few years doing one thing: keeping the sticker price of an electric car close to what people already pay for a used petrol hatchback. The 2026 update doesn’t change that mission. It changes what’s under the floor.
The headline swap is the battery. Instead of the older lithium-ion pack, the 2026 Spring uses a 24.3 kWh lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cell. LFP gives up a bit of energy density in exchange for a pack that tolerates being charged to 100% night after night without degrading as fast — a fair trade for a car that most owners will plug in at home rather than drive cross-country. WLTP range is listed at 225 km (140 miles) (some market listings show slightly different figures depending on trim and wheel size).
Charging is where the small battery works in the car’s favor. Dacia quotes a 40 kW DC fast-charging rate, enough to take the pack from 20% to 80% in around 29 minutes. That’s not fast by 2026 standards, but the battery is small enough that the wait doesn’t stretch into the kind of coffee-and-a-meal stop a bigger EV demands.
Dacia Spring Electric 2026 comes in two trims. Expression comes with a 70 hp motor; Extreme steps up to a more powerful motor, reported at 100 hp in some markets (power figures differ across sources and may reflect a mid-cycle update rather than a universal spec). Both are front-wheel drive, and neither is built for anything beyond city and suburban driving — Dacia isn’t pretending otherwise.
Dacia also reworked the chassis, suspension, and brakes for 2026. The company says the goal was a more settled ride and more confident stopping, not a performance upgrade. For a car this light and this cheap, that’s a reasonable place to spend the engineering budget.
Pricing is where the Spring keeps its reputation. In the UK, Dacia is running its own manufacturer discount, called the Electric Car Grant, which brings Expression down to roughly £16,810 and Extreme to around £18,180 before on-the-road fees. That keeps it among the cheapest new EVs sold in the country. Pricing outside Europe varies by market and import structure, and the Spring currently has no confirmed US certification or dealer network.
The Dacia Spring Electric 2026 was never going to out-range or out-tech the rest of the compact EV field, and the 2026 update doesn’t try to. What it does is make a slightly more durable, slightly better-charging version of the same pitch: an EV priced close to a used gas car, for people whose daily driving fits inside a small battery’s limits.
Specs below are compiled from manufacturer statements and market listings current as of early 2026. Figures marked vary by source or market and should be confirmed against your local Dacia configurator before publishing final numbers.
| Full Model Name | Dacia Spring Electric (2nd generation, 2026) |
| Segment / Class | A-segment electric city car |
| Available Trims / Variants | Expression, Journey |
| Powertrain Options | Single front motor, 82 PS standard; optional Fast-Charge Pack adds DC charging + V2L |
| Base Price (USD) | From €17,900 (Europe, Expression trim) |
| Availability Status | Just unveiled (Sept 10, 2026) |
| Markets Available | Europe confirmed |
| Brand / Manufacturer | Dacia (Renault Group) |
| Battery Capacity | 27.5 kWh (LFP) |
| Range (WLTP/CLTC/EPA) | (WLTP): Up to 250 km (~155 miles) |
| DC Charging (Max kW) | 50 kW — only with optional Fast-Charge Pack; base version has no DC charging |
| Charging Time (10–80%) | (15–80%): 28 min (50 kW DC, optional pack) · 9 hrs (standard 6.6 kW AC home socket) |
| AC Charging (Max kW) | 6.6 kW standard; 11 kW with Fast-Charge Pack |
| Battery Warranty | Not disclosed |
| Energy Consumption | Not disclosed |
| Power Output (kW / hp) | 60 kW / 82 PS (80 hp) |
| 0–100 km/h / 0-60 mph (seconds) The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | 12.1 seconds |
| Motor Configuration | Single motor, front-wheel drive |
| Torque (Nm) | 175 Nm |
| Top Speed (km/h / mph) | 130 km/h / ~81 mph |
| Dimensions (L×W×H mm) | 3,850 × 1,740 × 1,520 mm |
| Trunk/Boot Capacity (L) | 337 L (up to 1,283 L with rear seats folded) |
| Body Style | 5-door hatchback |
| Kerb Weight (kg) | From 1,212 kg |
| Ground Clearance (mm) | Not disclosed |
| Frunk/Bonnet Capacity (L) | 18 L (optional add-on) |
| Sunroof | Not offered |
| ADAS Features | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous Driving Level | Driver-assistance only (no autonomy) |
| Crash Test Ratings | Not yet tested |
| Over-the-Air (OTA) Safety Updates | Not disclosed |
| Seating Capacity | 4 |
| Seat Material | Fabric (Expression); mixed fabric/TEP (Journey) |
| Wireless Charging | Not offered |
| Centre Screen (inches) | None on Expression (phone-based "Media Control" app instead); 10.1" Media Nav Live on Journey and above |
| Mirror Link / Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | Via smartphone app on Expression; built-in on Journey+ |
| Driver's Display (inches) | 7-inch digital cluster (all trims) |
| Head-Up Display (HUD) | Not offered |
| Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) | Available with optional Fast-Charge Pack |
| Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) | Not offered |
| Over-the-Air Map Updates | Not disclosed |
| Headlight Type (LED/Matrix/Laser) | Automatic headlamps |
| Adaptive Headlights | Not offered |
| Sound System Brand | Not disclosed |
| Speaker Count | Not disclosed |
| Navigation System | Media Nav Live (Journey and above) |
| Face Recognition | Not offered |
| Fingerprint Sensor | Not offered |
| Remote Parking | Not offered |
| Official Dealer Network | Confirmed for Europe; other markets |
| Service Interval | Not disclosed |
| Roadside Assistance | Not disclosed |
| Data Source | Dacia press materials, reported via paultan.org (Sept 10, 2026), with cross-checks against Carwow, Parkers, Euro NCAP |
| Last Updated | September 12, 2026 |
| Additional Notes | This is the all-new second-gen Spring, revealed this week — separate from the current facelifted first-gen still sold in the UK (24.3 kWh battery, 225 km WLTP, from ~£11,990–£16,995) |
| Editor's Note | Several fields (crash rating, warranty, full ADAS list, additional trims) haven't been published by Dacia yet |
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct