The Subaru Solterra and Honda Prologue are compact to mid size electric SUVs aimed at mainstream EV buyers. Solterra from Subaru focuses on buyers who want standard all wheel drive and light off road capability in an electric crossover. Prologue from Honda targets family SUV buyers who want more interior space and longer driving range in a two row electric SUV.
Range comparison slightly favors the Prologue. Prologue reaches about 308 miles of EPA range in front wheel drive versions, while Solterra reaches up to about 288 miles depending on trim. Charging capability remains similar on paper with both supporting around 150 kW DC fast charging. Solterra reaches about 10 to 80 percent in roughly 28 minutes on fast chargers, while Prologue charging sessions typically take longer in real conditions.

Price positioning places both vehicles in the mid price electric SUV category. Solterra starts around the high $30k range in the United States, while Prologue pricing begins slightly higher depending on trim. Both models sell mainly in North America. This comparison helps readers decide between an AWD focused electric crossover and a larger electric family SUV with longer range.
Solterra offers standard all wheel drive traction, solid off road capability for an EV crossover, and balanced efficiency for daily driving, yet its range trails several rivals and cargo space remains smaller than larger electric SUVs. Prologue offers longer driving range, larger interior space suited for families, and a smoother highway ride, yet it lacks standard AWD on base trims and charging speeds remain average for the segment.
QUICK VERDICT; Choose Solterra if all wheel drive capability and compact crossover size matter most. Choose Prologue if longer range and interior space rank higher in your EV decision.
| |
| Price | $38,000.00 $48,000.00 |
| Our Rating | |
| Brand | SUBARU HONDA |
| Category | Electric Cars Electric Cars |
| Full Model Name | Subaru Solterra |
| Segment / Class | Compact Electric SUV |
| Available Trims / Variants |
Premium, Limited, Touring, Touring Onyx Edition
Honda Prologue FWD - Also known as Honda Prologue EX 2WD Honda Prologue AWD - Also known as Honda Prologue Elite AWD |
| Powertrain Options | Dual-motor AWD (only option) |
| Base Price (USD) |
$38,495 MSRP
$ 48,800 - Honda Prologue FWD $ 51,800 - Honda Prologue AWD |
| Availability Status | On sale now Available to order. Released 2024, March |
| Markets Available | US, Europe, Japan, and other global markets |
| Brand / Manufacturer | Subaru Corporation |
| Battery Capacity | 72.8 kWh (2025); 74.7 kWh (2026) 85 kWh total |
| Range (WLTP/CLTC/EPA) |
Up to 227 mi EPA (2025); up to 288 mi (2026)
296 mi EPA - Honda Prologue FWD 273 mi EPA - Honda Prologue AWD |
| DC Charging (Max kW) | 100 kW (2025); 150 kW (2026) CCS 150 kW max, 20-80% in 35 min |
| Charging Time (10–80%) | ~35 min (2025); ~28 min (2026) |
| AC Charging (Max kW) | ~9.5 hrs on Level 2 Type 2 11 kW |
| Battery Warranty | Not specified |
| Energy Consumption |
~16.0 kWh/100km
340 Wh/mi EPA - Honda Prologue FWD 370 Wh/mi EPA - Honda Prologue AWD |
| Power Output (kW / hp) |
215 hp combined
FWD 212 hp (156 kW) - Honda Prologue FWD AWD 288 hp (212 kW) - Honda Prologue AWD |
| 0–100 km/h / 0-60 mph (seconds) The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | 6.90 s / 6.70 s 5.9 sec 0-60 mph - Honda Prologue AWD |
| Motor Configuration | Dual motor, front + rear, AWD |
| Torque (Nm) |
249 lb-ft (~338 Nm)
320 Nm (236 lb-ft) - Honda Prologue FWD 451 Nm (333 lb-ft) - Honda Prologue AWD |
| Top Speed (km/h / mph) | 160 km/h (99 mph) 112 mph (180 km/h) |
| Dimensions (L×W×H mm) | 4,690 × 1,860 × 1,650 mm 4877 x 1989 x 1643 mm (192.0 x 78.3 x 64.7 in) |
| Trunk/Boot Capacity (L) | 421 L US: 714 l, 1634 l max |
| Body Style | 5 door SUV, 5 seats 5 door SUV, 5 seats |
| Kerb Weight (kg) |
2,010 kg
US: 2237 kg curb - Honda Prologue FWD US: 2392 kg curb - Honda Prologue AWD |
| Ground Clearance (mm) | 8.3 in (211 mm) |
| Frunk/Bonnet Capacity (L) | Not available No |
| Sunroof | Not offered on most trims |
| ADAS Features | EyeSight suite (full driver-assist package) |
| Autonomous Driving Level | Level 2 |
| Crash Test Ratings | 5 stars |
| Over-the-Air (OTA) Safety Updates | Not confirmed |
| Seating Capacity | 5 Heated and ventilated front seats |
| Seat Material | Cloth (base), leatherette (higher trims) |
| Wireless Charging | Limited trim and above |
| Centre Screen (inches) | 12.3" touchscreen 11.3" touchscreen |
| Mirror Link / Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | Wireless, both supported |
| Driver's Display (inches) | 7.0" LCD 11" |
| Head-Up Display (HUD) | Not offered Yes |
| Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) | Not confirmed |
| Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) | Not available |
| Over-the-Air Map Updates | Not confirmed |
| Headlight Type (LED/Matrix/Laser) | LED |
| Adaptive Headlights | Not standard |
| Sound System Brand | Harman Kardon (higher trims) |
| Speaker Count | N/A |
| Navigation System | Higher trims |
| Face Recognition | Not offered |
| Fingerprint Sensor | Not offered |
| Remote Parking | Not offered |
| Official Dealer Network | Subaru dealers nationwide/globally |
| Service Interval | Not specified |
| Roadside Assistance | Included via Subaru ownership programs |
| Data Source | Subaru press materials, Autoblog, Cars.com, KBB, cars-data.com |
| Last Updated | September 2026 |
| Additional Notes | 2025 MY pricing dropped $6,500 vs. 2024; 2026 MY brings a new battery/platform with major range and charging gains |
| Editor's Note | The 2026 redesign closes much of the range/charging gap with rivals |
|
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct