








Subaru Solterra is Subaru’s all-electric compact SUV and the brand’s first global battery-electric vehicle. It sits in the entry-level EV part of Subaru’s lineup, uses a crossover/SUV body style, and comes with standard all-wheel drive in the market sources reviewed. In simple terms, it is the model that introduced Subaru to the mainstream EV space.
Under the skin, the Solterra uses a 71.4 kWh battery pack, with one technical reference listing 65 kWh as the usable capacity. The AWD version is quoted at 465 km WLTP range, so that figure applies to the European test cycle rather than EPA data. Charging specs listed by Subaru show 7 kW single-phase AC or 11 kW three-phase AC, plus a 150 kW DC fast-charging peak. Subaru says DC fast charging can take the battery from low to about 80% in around 30 minutes, while another market listing gives a 10–80% figure of about 35 minutes, so real-world timing can vary by market and conditions.
For pricing, a U.S. source lists the Solterra from $38,495, and a 2026 Subaru retail page repeats that starting figure. Regional pricing can differ, but that U.S. figure is the clearest launch-market reference available in the source set reviewed. The Solterra is best suited to commuters, small families, and fleet buyers who want a compact EV with standard AWD rather than the longest range in its class. Inside Subaru’s lineup, it sits alongside the Crosstrek and Forester as a practical compact SUV alternative, while the closest external rivals are the Toyota bZ4X and Nissan Ariya.
| Full Model Name | Subaru Solterra |
| Segment / Class | Compact Electric SUV |
| Available Trims / Variants | Premium, Limited, Touring, Touring Onyx Edition |
| Powertrain Options | Dual-motor AWD (only option) |
| Base Price (USD) | $38,495 MSRP |
| Availability Status | On sale now |
| Markets Available | US, Europe, Japan, and other global markets |
| Brand / Manufacturer | Subaru Corporation |
| Battery Capacity | 72.8 kWh (2025); 74.7 kWh (2026) |
| Range (WLTP/CLTC/EPA) | Up to 227 mi EPA (2025); up to 288 mi (2026) |
| DC Charging (Max kW) | 100 kW (2025); 150 kW (2026) |
| Charging Time (10–80%) | ~35 min (2025); ~28 min (2026) |
| AC Charging (Max kW) | ~9.5 hrs on Level 2 |
| Battery Warranty | Not specified |
| Energy Consumption | ~16.0 kWh/100km |
| Power Output (kW / hp) | 215 hp combined |
| 0–100 km/h / 0-60 mph (seconds) The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | 6.90 s / 6.70 s |
| Motor Configuration | Dual motor, front + rear, AWD |
| Torque (Nm) | 249 lb-ft (~338 Nm) |
| Top Speed (km/h / mph) | 160 km/h (99 mph) |
| Dimensions (L×W×H mm) | 4,690 × 1,860 × 1,650 mm |
| Trunk/Boot Capacity (L) | 421 L |
| Body Style | 5 door SUV, 5 seats |
| Kerb Weight (kg) | 2,010 kg |
| Ground Clearance (mm) | 8.3 in (211 mm) |
| Frunk/Bonnet Capacity (L) | Not available |
| Sunroof | Not offered on most trims |
| ADAS Features | EyeSight suite (full driver-assist package) |
| Autonomous Driving Level | Level 2 |
| Crash Test Ratings | 5 stars |
| Over-the-Air (OTA) Safety Updates | Not confirmed |
| Seating Capacity | 5 |
| Seat Material | Cloth (base), leatherette (higher trims) |
| Wireless Charging | Limited trim and above |
| Centre Screen (inches) | 12.3" touchscreen |
| Mirror Link / Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | Wireless, both supported |
| Driver's Display (inches) | 7.0" LCD |
| Head-Up Display (HUD) | Not offered |
| Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) | Not confirmed |
| Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) | Not available |
| Over-the-Air Map Updates | Not confirmed |
| Headlight Type (LED/Matrix/Laser) | LED |
| Adaptive Headlights | Not standard |
| Sound System Brand | Harman Kardon (higher trims) |
| Speaker Count | N/A |
| Navigation System | Higher trims |
| Face Recognition | Not offered |
| Fingerprint Sensor | Not offered |
| Remote Parking | Not offered |
| Official Dealer Network | Subaru dealers nationwide/globally |
| Service Interval | Not specified |
| Roadside Assistance | Included via Subaru ownership programs |
| Data Source | Subaru press materials, Autoblog, Cars.com, KBB, cars-data.com |
| Last Updated | September 2026 |
| Additional Notes | 2025 MY pricing dropped $6,500 vs. 2024; 2026 MY brings a new battery/platform with major range and charging gains |
| Editor's Note | The 2026 redesign closes much of the range/charging gap with rivals |
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct