





Leapmotor B05 is a compact electric hatchback, built for city driving rather than showing off. Short nose, liftback rear for actually fitting groceries or luggage — nothing fancy, just usable.
Range is modest: around 300 km WLTP on a full charge. That covers commuting and errands fine. Don’t expect it to handle a long weekend trip without planning around a charger. Fast charging handles the DC top-ups when you need them, and it charges overnight at home on any standard Level 2 setup.
The price is the real story here — it sits well below most EVs in its class, which is really the whole reason to consider it over something bigger.
It’s not Leapmotor’s only car; the lineup also includes the C11 SUV and the T03 city car. Its closest rivals are the BYD Dolphin and GWM’s Ora Funky Cat — the B05 is smaller and plainer than the Dolphin, and cheaper too.
| Full Model Name | Leapmotor B05 (sold as Leapmotor Lafa 5 in China) |
| Segment / Class | Compact/family hatchback |
| Available Trims / Variants | UK: single trim. Australia: Style & Design LR. China: multiple grades incl. B05 Ultra |
| Powertrain Options | Single rear-mounted motor, RWD (all markets) |
| Base Price (USD) | UK: ~£28,995–£30,495. Australia: ~AUD $36,000 |
| Availability Status | On sale in UK (deliveries from July 2026); Australia from August–September 2026 |
| Markets Available | UK, Europe, Australia, China |
| Brand / Manufacturer | Leapmotor (partly Stellantis-backed for Europe) |
| Battery Capacity | 56.2 kWh or 67.1 kWh LFP (UK gets 67.1 kWh only) |
| Range (WLTP/CLTC/EPA) | 300 miles / ~482 km (67.1 kWh); ~361 km (56.2 kWh) |
| DC Charging (Max kW) | 168–174 kW |
| Charging Time (10–80%) | ~24 minutes |
| AC Charging (Max kW) | 7–11 kW |
| Battery Warranty | 8 years / 100,000 miles |
| Energy Consumption | ~15.9 kWh/100km (WLTP) |
| Power Output (kW / hp) | 160 kW / 215 hp |
| 0–100 km/h / 0-60 mph (seconds) The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | 6.7 seconds |
| Motor Configuration | Single rear motor, rear-wheel drive |
| Torque (Nm) | 240 Nm |
| Top Speed (km/h / mph) | Not officially disclosed |
| Dimensions (L×W×H mm) | 4,430 × 1,880 × 1,520 mm |
| Trunk/Boot Capacity (L) | 345 litres |
| Body Style | 5-door hatchback |
| Kerb Weight (kg) | ~1,630–1,715 kg |
| Ground Clearance (mm) | Not disclosed |
| Frunk/Bonnet Capacity (L) | Not applicable/disclosed |
| Sunroof | Not confirmed as standard |
| ADAS Features | 21 ADAS functions via 14 sensors/cameras |
| Autonomous Driving Level | Level 2 (driver assist, not self-driving) |
| Crash Test Ratings | Expected 5-star Euro NCAP (based on related B10); official B05 rating pending at time of most listings |
| Over-the-Air (OTA) Safety Updates | Yes, over-the-air software updates supported |
| Seating Capacity | 5 |
| Seat Material | Grey cloth/synthetic trim (varies by trim) |
| Wireless Charging | Not consistently confirmed |
| Centre Screen (inches) | 14.6 inches |
| Mirror Link / Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | Not clearly confirmed in sources |
| Driver's Display (inches) | Smaller secondary digital cluster |
| Head-Up Display (HUD) | Not confirmed |
| Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) | Not confirmed |
| Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) | Not confirmed |
| Over-the-Air Map Updates | yes, via connected services |
| Headlight Type (LED/Matrix/Laser) | Slim LED |
| Adaptive Headlights | Not confirmed |
| Sound System Brand | Not specified |
| Speaker Count | Not specified |
| Navigation System | Built-in via central touchscreen |
| Face Recognition | Not confirmed |
| Fingerprint Sensor | Not confirmed |
| Remote Parking | Not confirmed |
| Official Dealer Network | Leapmotor International dealers (UK/EU), Stellantis-linked in Australia |
| Service Interval | 12 months / 20,000 km (Australia figure) |
| Roadside Assistance | Included, tied to warranty period |
| Data Source | CarsGuide, Carwow, What Car?, Top Gear, Electrifying, CarExpert, CarSales, Euro NCAP, Wikipedia |
| Last Updated | September 2026 |
| Additional Notes | Chinese-market "B05 Ultra" performance variant (180 kW, sub-6s 0–100) not confirmed for UK/Australia |
| Editor's Note | Several fields (sunroof, wireless charging, HUD) aren't consistently listed across markets |
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct