






The Nio EL7 is mid-size electric SUV for Europe. It’s the ES7 with a different badge — Nio renamed it after a trademark dispute with Audi. Built for China first, exported second, and now mostly an afterthought in Nio’s European lineup.
The spec sheet still holds up. Dual-motor AWD puts out 480 kW combined (653 PS / 644 hp) and 850 Nm of torque — 0-100 km/h in 3.9 seconds, governed top speed of 200 km/h. Two battery options: 75 kWh (about 70.5 kWh usable) and 100 kWh, both NMC. WLTP range tops out around 513 km on the smaller pack, down to roughly 486 km with bigger wheels.
One thing worth flagging: several spec databases list the 100 kWh pack’s WLTP range at almost the same number, 509-513 km. A battery that’s a third larger should not produce nearly the same range. Either that’s a wheel-specific quirk or a figure nobody bothered to correct. I wouldn’t trust the 100 kWh range number until Nio publishes something cleaner.
DC charging power is also inconsistent — 130 kW in one source, 140 kW in another.
What actually makes the Nio EL7 interesting isn’t the motor output, it’s Nio’s battery-swap network. Buy the car without a battery under the BaaS program, pay a monthly fee instead — around €169 for the 75 kWh pack at launch — and swap a full pack at a Power Swap station in a few minutes rather than sitting at a charger. Germany pricing at launch: €85,900 with the 75 kWh battery included, €94,900 with the 100 kWh pack, or €73,900 for the car alone under BaaS. Air suspension, Nio’s Aquila LiDAR sensor suite, adaptive cruise and lane-keeping come standard. It scored five stars in Euro NCAP testing back in 2023.
Here’s the part that actually matters more than any of those numbers: you mostly can’t buy one right now. Nio’s direct European markets, Germany and the Netherlands especially, have stopped configuring new Nio EL7 units. What’s left is leftover stock, and in Germany that’s reportedly subscription-only, not a straight purchase. China discontinued the ES7 about a year ago, though a next-gen version has since turned up testing. Nio’s European SUV focus has moved to the EL6 and EL8, and the company has already told European customers not to expect a real product update before late 2027.
Good numbers, real swap network, dead sales channel. If you’re shopping new in Europe today, the EL7 isn’t the live option its spec sheet makes it look like — it’s what’s left of a car after the company that made it stopped paying attention.
| Full Model Name | Nio EL7 (China: ES7) |
| Segment / Class | Mid-size electric SUV |
| Available Trims / Variants | Standard Range (75 kWh), Long Range (100 kWh) |
| Powertrain Options | Dual-motor AWD only (no single-motor version) |
| Base Price (USD) | €85,900 (75 kWh, battery included) / €94,900 (100 kWh) / from €73,900 under BaaS (no battery) — Germany launch pricing |
| Availability Status | Discontinued for new configuration in Nio's direct EU markets (Germany, Netherlands) as of 2026; residual stock only, subscription-only in Germany |
| Markets Available | Previously Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Denmark; China counterpart (ES7) also discontinued, next-gen version reportedly in testing |
| Brand / Manufacturer | Nio Inc. |
| Battery Capacity | 75 kWh gross / 70.5 kWh usable; 100 kWh |
| Range (WLTP/CLTC/EPA) | Up to 513 km (75 kWh, best wheels) / 486 km (larger wheels) |
| DC Charging (Max kW) | 130–140 kW |
| Charging Time (10–80%) | ~29 minutes (75 kWh pack, ~101 kW average) |
| AC Charging (Max kW) | 11 kW |
| Battery Warranty | Not officially disclosed for Europe |
| Energy Consumption | 13.7 kWh/100km (75 kWh) / 14.5 kWh/100km (100 kWh), WLTP |
| Power Output (kW / hp) | 480 kW / 653 PS / 644 hp combined |
| 0–100 km/h / 0-60 mph (seconds) The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | 3.9 sec |
| Motor Configuration | Dual-motor AWD: front PMSM (180 kW) + rear induction motor (300 kW) |
| Torque (Nm) | 850 Nm |
| Top Speed (km/h / mph) | 200 km/h / 124 mph (electronically governed) |
| Dimensions (L×W×H mm) | 4,912 × 1,987 × 1,720 mm (approx.) |
| Trunk/Boot Capacity (L) | 570 L or 658 L depending on source; 1,545 L rear seats folded |
| Body Style | 5-door SUV |
| Kerb Weight (kg) | Not confirmed for this model specifically |
| Ground Clearance (mm) | Not disclosed |
| Frunk/Bonnet Capacity (L) | None |
| Sunroof | Panoramic sunroof, standard |
| ADAS Features | Adaptive cruise, lane-keep assist, AEB, blind-spot monitoring (NIO Pilot) |
| Autonomous Driving Level | Level 2 (driver-supervised) |
| Crash Test Ratings | Euro NCAP 5-star (2023, 75 kWh/20" LHD) |
| Over-the-Air (OTA) Safety Updates | Yes, full-vehicle OTA |
| Seating Capacity | 5 |
| Seat Material | Leather/premium upholstery; heated + ventilated + massage fronts; air cushion system |
| Wireless Charging | Not confirmed as standard |
| Centre Screen (inches) | 12.8" AMOLED |
| Mirror Link / Apple CarPlay / Android Auto | Not typically included — NIO uses its own Banyan OS ecosystem |
| Driver's Display (inches) | 10.2" HDR instrument cluster |
| Head-Up Display (HUD) | Yes, enhanced HUD |
| Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) | Yes, up to 3.3 kW discharge |
| Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) | Not supported |
| Over-the-Air Map Updates | Yes |
| Headlight Type (LED/Matrix/Laser) | Dual-beam LED |
| Adaptive Headlights | Not confirmed as matrix/adaptive |
| Sound System Brand | Dolby Atmos + Dirac Pro spatial audio |
| Speaker Count | 23 speakers, 1,000 W peak |
| Navigation System | Built-in, integrated with Banyan OS |
| Face Recognition | Not confirmed |
| Fingerprint Sensor | Not confirmed |
| Remote Parking | Yes, via Nio app |
| Official Dealer Network | Nio House/Space + service centers in former EU markets |
| Service Interval | Not disclosed |
| Roadside Assistance | Included with Nio ownership/BaaS |
| Data Source | Nio.com, EVKX, EV Database, EVspecs, CnEVPost, CarNewsChina, Ayvens, Green Cars Compare, Wikipedia, EV/CARBA industry reporting |
| Last Updated | September 2026 |
| Additional Notes | Genuine current-availability item, not just a spec detail — this car is functionally sold out in its main EU markets |
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct