- Home
- Catalog
- Compare
- BYD Seagull Freedom vs BYD Seagull Flying
BYD Seagull Freedom vs BYD Seagull Flying
MODEL
|
Full Name
|
BYD Seagull Freedom (second generation)
BYD Seagull Flying (second generation). The Seagull is sold abroad as the Dolphin Mini, Dolphin Surf or Atto 1, but those names refer to the first generation. |
|
Segment
|
Small electric hatchback, entry level
Entry-level |
|
Class
A collection of items, goods, or services grouped together by common attributes |
Compact hatchback (moved up from the A00 mini class)
Five-seat electric hatchback |
|
Warranty
|
Vehicle 6 years / 150,000 km; battery, motor and electronic controls for life for the first private owner (China)
Not published for this generation |
PRICE & AVAILABILITY
|
Base Price
|
72,900 yuan (about $10,900); 69,900 yuan after the 3,000 yuan trade-in discount
82,900 yuan (about $12,400) for Flying. A trade-in offer takes 3,000 yuan off, so about 79,900 yuan. |
|
Availability Status
|
On sale in China since Oct 20, 2026
On sale in China since 20 October 2026 |
|
Markets Available
|
China only for now; BYD hasn’t given an overseas date for the new generation (the first generation is sold as Dolphin Mini, Dolphin Surf and Atto 1)
China only |
POWER
|
Fuel Type
A fuel type is the specific source of energy or chemical substance used to power a vehicle, machinery, or heating system |
Battery electric
Battery electric |
|
Engine
An engine is a machine that converts energy (such as heat, fuel, or steam) into mechanical force, power, and motion |
None
None |
|
Generator
generator is a device, machine, or person that produces or creates something, most commonly a machine that converts mechanical energy into electrical energy. |
None
None |
|
Battery Capacity
|
30.1 kWh LFP (second-gen Blade)
39.2 kWh LFP |
|
Range
|
320 km CLTC
420 km (CLTC) |
|
DC Charging
|
Peak rate not stated
Peak kW not published |
|
Charging Time
|
flash charging’s 10–70% in 5 minutes
10–70% in 5 minutes at BYD flash-charging stations |
|
AC Charging
|
7 kW
Not published |
|
Energy Consumption
|
From 9.0 kWh/100 km (range-wide figure)
Not published |
|
Regen Braking
|
Not stated
Not published |
PERFORMANCE
|
Power Output
|
85 kW (about 114–116 hp)
95 kW (127 hp) |
|
0–100 km/h
The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. |
0–50 km/h in 4.9 s
Not published |
|
Motor Configuration
|
Single rear motor, rear-wheel drive
Single motor on the rear axle, rear-wheel drive |
|
Torque
|
130 Nm
Not published |
|
Top Speed
|
150 km/h
150 km/h |
BODY & DIMENSIONS
|
Dimensions
|
4,205 × 1,810 × 1,570 mm; wheelbase 2,650 mm
4,205 × 1,810 × 1,570 mm (L × W × H), wheelbase 2,650 mm |
|
Platform
|
Not stated
Not named |
|
Suspensions
|
MacPherson struts front, independent multi-link rear
Rear multi-link independent. Front not published |
|
Boot Capacity
|
380 L (1,380 L with rear seats folded)
Up to 1,380 L with rear seats folded |
|
Kerb Weight
|
Not stated
1,180–1,255 kg |
|
Ground Clearance
|
Not stated
Not published |
|
Bonnet Capacity
|
94 L front trunk, electrically opening
94 L |
|
Sunroof
|
Not stated
Not published |
|
Wheels
|
16-inch alloys, 205/60 R16 tyres
16-inch, 205/60R16 tyres |
|
Towing
|
Not stated
Not published |
SAFETY & DRIVER ASSISTANCE
|
Airbags
|
Six (front, front side, curtain)
Not published |
|
ADAS Features
|
Cruise control, 360° camera, rear parking sensors; no automatic emergency braking
ABS and an event data recorder are standard |
|
Autonomous Driving Level
|
None on this trim
Not stated |
|
Crash Test Ratings
|
None yet
Not published |
|
Over-the-Air Updates
|
Yes
Not confirmed |
COMFORT & SEATING
|
Seating Capacity
|
5
5 |
|
Seat Material
|
Not stated (front seats are power-adjustable, heated and ventilated, with driver massage)
Power-adjustable front seats and a driver’s massage function |
DISPLAYS & CONNECTIVITY
|
Centre Screen
|
12.8-inch
15.6-inch, running BYD’s DiLink 150 system |
|
Mirror Link
|
Not stated (50 W wireless phone charging and NFC/Bluetooth phone key are included)
Not published |
|
Driver's Display
|
None; driving info shows on the centre screen
None |
|
Head-Up Display
|
Not stated
Not published |
TECHNOLOGY
|
Vehicle-to-Load
|
Yes
Not published |
|
Vehicle-to-Grid
|
Not stated
Not published |
ADDITIONAL SPECS
|
Headlight Type
|
LED
Not published |
|
Navigation System
|
Not itemised for this trim (runs BYD’s DiLink 150 system)
Not published |
|
Remote Parking
|
No
Not confirmed |
Note
|
Additional Notes
|
Other features include a powered tailgate, eight speakers and sentry mode.
“Flying” is a trim name, and many listings online still describe the older first-generation Flying (405 km CLTC, 38.88 kWh, front-wheel drive). The figures above are for the new car.
Weights and the ADAS pack are from filings covering the whole range, not Flying alone. |
Disclaimer Note
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct