




The BYD Seagull Freedom is a trim of the second-generation Seagull, a small electric hatchback made by BYD in China and sold at the entry level of its Ocean range. BYD launched the new car on October 20, 2026, in five variants, and the Freedom is the second cheapest.
The body is 4,205 mm long, 1,810 mm wide and 1,570 mm tall on a 2,650 mm wheelbase. That is big enough that it no longer fits the A00 mini class the first generation sat in. The first-generation car used a single front motor and front-wheel drive. None of the sources I found state the layout for the new one, so FWD is unconfirmed. Three things changed from the old car. The body is 425 mm longer, seating goes from four to five, and the Freedom’s motor makes 85 kW against the old 55 kW. A separate Freedom trim also exists on the 2026 model-year Seagull, launched in May, with a 3,780 mm body, four seats and a 55 kW motor. This post covers the new one.
The Freedom has a 30.1 kWh lithium iron phosphate pack, BYD’s second-generation Blade design, rated at 320 km on the CLTC cycle. CLTC is China’s test cycle and gives higher numbers than WLTP. BYD hasn’t published a WLTP figure for this trim, or a usable capacity. One outlet lists about 259 km WLTP, but that is a conversion, so treat it as unofficial. BYD quotes consumption from 9.0 kWh per 100 km across the range. AC charging peaks at 7 kW on every variant. Flash charging, which BYD rates at 10 to 70 percent in 5 minutes, is limited to the three variants with the 39.2 kWh pack, so the Freedom doesn’t get it. I couldn’t confirm a DC peak rate or a 10–80% time for this trim. As a rough reference only, a database listing for the earlier 2026 Freedom shows 30 kW peak DC, and the 405 km first-generation car is listed at about 30 minutes for 30–80%. Neither number should be assumed for the new car.
In China the Freedom lists at 72,900 yuan. BYD offers a 3,000 yuan trade-in discount on every variant, which brings it to 69,900 yuan. At the exchange rate CnEVPost used for the 65,900 yuan base price (about $9,810), that is roughly $10,850 before the discount. BYD hasn’t announced export pricing for the new generation. The current Dolphin Surf, the Seagull’s European name, starts at €22,990 in Europe and £18,650 in the UK. Those are first-generation prices and don’t say what the new Freedom will cost abroad. Realistically, the car suits urban commuters, second-car households and small families who mostly drive short distances. 320 km on CLTC will shrink in real driving, and without flash charging, long trips will be slower than on the dearer trims. Inside BYD’s lineup, the Seagull sits below the Dolphin. The top Seagull trim, at 99,900 yuan, also reaches into the price range of the Yuan Up, a small SUV.
Outside BYD, the closest rivals are the Geely Xingyuan and the Wuling Bingo. The Xingyuan was China’s top-selling new-energy model last year and has put heavy competitive pressure on the Seagull, so it is the most direct comparison. I haven’t verified current Xingyuan or Bingo specs, so check them before publishing a side-by-side.
| Full Name | BYD Seagull Freedom (second generation) |
| Segment | Small electric hatchback, entry level |
| Class A collection of items, goods, or services grouped together by common attributes | Compact hatchback (moved up from the A00 mini class) |
| Warranty | Vehicle 6 years / 150,000 km; battery, motor and electronic controls for life for the first private owner (China) |
| Base Price | 72,900 yuan (about $10,900); 69,900 yuan after the 3,000 yuan trade-in discount |
| Availability Status | On sale in China since Oct 20, 2026 |
| Markets Available | China only for now; BYD hasn’t given an overseas date for the new generation (the first generation is sold as Dolphin Mini, Dolphin Surf and Atto 1) |
| Fuel Type A fuel type is the specific source of energy or chemical substance used to power a vehicle, machinery, or heating system | Battery electric |
| Engine An engine is a machine that converts energy (such as heat, fuel, or steam) into mechanical force, power, and motion | None |
| Generator generator is a device, machine, or person that produces or creates something, most commonly a machine that converts mechanical energy into electrical energy. | None |
| Battery Capacity | 30.1 kWh LFP (second-gen Blade) |
| Range | 320 km CLTC |
| DC Charging | Peak rate not stated |
| Charging Time | flash charging’s 10–70% in 5 minutes |
| AC Charging | 7 kW |
| Energy Consumption | From 9.0 kWh/100 km (range-wide figure) |
| Regen Braking | Not stated |
| Power Output | 85 kW (about 114–116 hp) |
| 0–100 km/h The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | 0–50 km/h in 4.9 s |
| Motor Configuration | Single rear motor, rear-wheel drive |
| Torque | 130 Nm |
| Top Speed | 150 km/h |
| Dimensions | 4,205 × 1,810 × 1,570 mm; wheelbase 2,650 mm |
| Platform | Not stated |
| Suspensions | MacPherson struts front, independent multi-link rear |
| Boot Capacity | 380 L (1,380 L with rear seats folded) |
| Kerb Weight | Not stated |
| Ground Clearance | Not stated |
| Bonnet Capacity | 94 L front trunk, electrically opening |
| Sunroof | Not stated |
| Wheels | 16-inch alloys, 205/60 R16 tyres |
| Towing | Not stated |
| Airbags | Six (front, front side, curtain) |
| ADAS Features | Cruise control, 360° camera, rear parking sensors; no automatic emergency braking |
| Autonomous Driving Level | None on this trim |
| Crash Test Ratings | None yet |
| Over-the-Air Updates | Yes |
| Seating Capacity | 5 |
| Seat Material | Not stated (front seats are power-adjustable, heated and ventilated, with driver massage) |
| Centre Screen | 12.8-inch |
| Mirror Link | Not stated (50 W wireless phone charging and NFC/Bluetooth phone key are included) |
| Driver's Display | None; driving info shows on the centre screen |
| Head-Up Display | Not stated |
| Vehicle-to-Load | Yes |
| Vehicle-to-Grid | Not stated |
| Headlight Type | LED |
| Navigation System | Not itemised for this trim (runs BYD’s DiLink 150 system) |
| Remote Parking | No |
| Additional Notes | Other features include a powered tailgate, eight speakers and sentry mode. |
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct