




The BYD Dolphin Surf Boost is the middle trim of BYD’s smallest car sold in Europe: a budget electric hatchback, five doors, four seats, about 3,990 mm long. It shares the Active’s 65 kW front motor (175 Nm) and drives the front wheels, so the real difference is the battery. Under the skin it is the Chinese Seagull, and it won World Urban Car of the Year in 2025.
The Boost has a 43.2 kWh usable LFP Blade battery (46 kWh nominal). WLTP combined range is 322 km, or 200 miles. EV Database puts real-world range nearer 270 km (165 miles). AC charging tops out at 11 kW. DC peaks at 85 kW against the Active’s 65 kW, and 10-80% takes about 30 minutes. Acceleration is slow, 12.1 seconds from 0-100 km/h, and top speed is 150 km/h. The charging times come from the manufacturer. No source I reviewed had an independent charging curve for the Boost, so treat them as claimed.
In the UK the Boost costs £21,975, up slightly from the launch price of £21,950. German list price is €26,990, and a launch promotion brought it to €22,490. Comparison sites show other numbers (one lists €24,990), so check dealer pricing and any subsidy before publishing. With 200 miles of rated range, it fits commuters, second-car households and small fleets that now and then need a longer trip. Within BYD’s European range it sits between the Active (£18,675, 137 miles) and the Comfort (£23,975, 154 bhp, 193 miles, 0-62 mph in about 9 seconds).
Outside the brand, it competes with the Hyundai Inster, and the Renault 5 costs a little more. The closest match is the Citroën ë-C3 with a 44 kWh battery. One comparison site lists the Comfort Range at €23,300 against the Boost’s €24,990, with 326 km WLTP against 322 km. It also shows a 100 kW DC rate against 85 kW, and a larger boot. In a German test, AUTO BILD priced the Dolphin Surf test car (a higher trim) at €26,900, the Inster at €25,900 and the ë-C3 at €23,450.
| Full Name | BYD Dolphin Surf Boost |
| Segment | A-segment city car |
| Class A collection of items, goods, or services grouped together by common attributes | Electric hatchback |
| Warranty | Not confirmed |
| Base Price | UK £21,950 / Ireland €22,230 |
| Availability Status | On sale (since mid-2025) |
| Markets Available | 15 European countries incl. UK, Ireland, Germany, Italy, Spain, Poland. South Africa gets a different line-up |
| Fuel Type A fuel type is the specific source of energy or chemical substance used to power a vehicle, machinery, or heating system | Electric (BEV) |
| Engine An engine is a machine that converts energy (such as heat, fuel, or steam) into mechanical force, power, and motion | None |
| Generator generator is a device, machine, or person that produces or creates something, most commonly a machine that converts mechanical energy into electrical energy. | None |
| Battery Capacity | 43.2 kWh LFP Blade |
| Range | 322 km (200 mi) |
| DC Charging | 85 kW |
| Charging Time | 10–80% in ~30 min (DC) |
| AC Charging | 11 kW, ~5 h |
| Energy Consumption | Not stated |
| Regen Braking | Yes |
| Power Output | 65 kW (88 hp) |
| 0–100 km/h The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. | ~12.1 s |
| Motor Configuration | Single front motor, FWD |
| Torque | 175 Nm |
| Top Speed | Not stated |
| Dimensions | 3,990 × 1,720 × 1,590 mm |
| Platform | BYD e-Platform 3.0 |
| Suspensions | Not confirmed |
| Boot Capacity | 308 L (1,037 L seats folded) |
| Kerb Weight | Not stated |
| Ground Clearance | ~151–154 mm |
| Bonnet Capacity | None |
| Sunroof | Not listed |
| Wheels | 16" alloy |
| Towing | Not confirmed |
| Airbags | 6 |
| ADAS Features | Adaptive cruise, auto emergency braking, lane-departure assist, auto high beam, driver monitoring, rear sensors + camera |
| Autonomous Driving Level | Driver-assist only (about Level 2 |
| Crash Test Ratings | Euro NCAP 5 stars (2025) |
| Over-the-Air Updates | Not confirmed |
| Seating Capacity | 4 |
| Seat Material | Vegan leather, electric driver’s seat |
| Centre Screen | 10.1" rotating touchscreen |
| Mirror Link | Apple CarPlay / Android Auto |
| Driver's Display | Digital cluster |
| Head-Up Display | Not listed |
| Vehicle-to-Load | Yes, up to 3.3 kW |
| Vehicle-to-Grid | No |
| Headlight Type | Not LED |
| Navigation System | use phone apps |
| Remote Parking | Not listed |
| Additional Notes | Adds bigger battery, alloys, rain-sensing wipers, folding mirrors |
Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct