1. Home
  2. Electric Vehicles
  3. Compare Electric Cars
  4. Toyota bZ4X Touring vs Subaru Solterra

Toyota bZ4X Touring vs Subaru Solterra

The Toyota bZ4X and Subaru Solterra are mid-size electric SUVs co-developed on the same e-TNGA platform — twin vehicles from two Japanese brands with notably different personalities. The bZ4X is built for urban commuters and family buyers who want a polished, efficient EV with flexible drivetrain options at a lower entry price. The Solterra is aimed squarely at outdoors-oriented drivers who want standard AWD, higher ground clearance, and genuine off-road confidence. With falling prices on both models — Subaru cut the Solterra’s MSRP by $6,500 for 2025 — this matchup has become one of the most competitive in the affordable EV SUV space, and worth a serious look for South African and East African buyers exploring Japanese-brand EV imports.

Toyota bZ4X Touring vs Subaru Solterra

The Toyota bZ4X delivers up to 252 miles of EPA-estimated range on its front-wheel-drive configuration, while the Subaru Solterra tops out at around 225 miles EPA on its AWD setup. In real-world driving, expect 10–15% less on both, particularly in heat or at highway speeds. The single-motor FWD bZ4X can charge from 20% to 80% in roughly 30 minutes on a DC fast charger, while the dual-motor AWD versions of both the bZ4X and Solterra take approximately 35 minutes for the same window. DC fast charging tops out at around 150 kW on paper for both models, and both support Level 2 AC home charging at approximately 20 miles of range added per hour. For buyers in markets where public fast chargers are scarce, overnight Level 2 charging from a home outlet or solar setup remains the most practical daily solution for either vehicle.

The 2025 Toyota bZ4X starts at $37,070 for the base XLE FWD, while the Subaru Solterra opens at $38,495 for the Premium AWD trim. The Solterra’s range-topping Touring model reaches $51,995, and all variants include standard AWD. Toyota offers broader trim flexibility, including FWD and AWD configurations across XLE, Nightshade, and Limited grades. In Nigeria, both arrive via parallel import at approximately ₦55M–₦80M depending on year and trim; in South Africa, Toyota has an official dealer network that supports the bZ4X, giving it a servicing advantage. This page answers one question directly: if you’re choosing between these two Japanese co-twins, the bZ4X wins on price and range, while the Solterra wins on standard AWD and off-road readiness.

Toyota’s EV lineup surrounding the bZ4X includes the smaller bZ3 sedan and the upcoming bZ5X, giving buyers a path to stay within the brand as the range expands. Subaru currently offers only the Solterra as its sole EV in most markets, though the brand has committed to additional electric models through its partnership with Toyota. Outside both brands, the Volkswagen ID.4 and Hyundai Ioniq 5 compete at similar price points and offer notably better range — but neither brings the off-road software and AWD-standard lineup that makes this bZ4X vs Solterra comparison relevant for buyers who need genuine rough-terrain capability at an accessible price.

Toyota bZ4X The bZ4X’s higher EPA range of up to 252 miles on the FWD trim gives buyers a practical buffer on long inter-city runs where charging stops are limited. Toyota’s wider dealer and service network in markets like South Africa and Kenya means that maintenance and warranty support are far more accessible than with a grey-market alternative. Toyota has historically run aggressive lease incentives on the bZ4X, making it one of the more accessible ways into a new Japanese EV in markets where financing is available. However, the base model’s front-wheel-drive setup limits its usefulness on unpaved or wet roads, a real disadvantage for African buyers outside city centres. Its infotainment setup, while functional, lags behind similarly priced Korean rivals in screen quality and software responsiveness.

Subaru Solterra The Solterra comes standard with dual-motor AWD, X-MODE dual traction control, and class-leading ground clearance of 8.3 inches — a genuine advantage for buyers navigating rough roads or seasonal terrain. Later Solterra models gained improved thermal battery management, cutting fast-charge times roughly in half compared to launch-year cars, making newer used units meaningfully better to own. Standard heated seats and steering wheel on all trims add real everyday comfort for buyers in highland or cool climates. The tradeoff is a shorter EPA range of around 222–227 miles, which limits the Solterra’s appeal for buyers who frequently cover long distances without charging infrastructure. Its price premium over the bZ4X is noticeable, and because Subaru’s African dealer footprint is thin, servicing a Solterra outside South Africa typically means relying on independent mechanics.

Quick Verdict

Choose the bZ4X if range, price flexibility, and access to an authorised service network matter most — it is the more practical, cost-efficient choice for city and highway buyers. Choose the Solterra if you regularly drive on unpaved roads, in wet conditions, or need confident AWD traction as standard rather than as an upgrade. Both share identical charging infrastructure and battery origins, so the decision comes down to whether you prioritise efficiency or capability. For African buyers specifically, the bZ4X’s wider dealer network gives it a meaningful edge in long-term ownership peace of mind.

FAQ

Is the Toyota bZ4X better than the Subaru Solterra for long trips?

On range alone, the bZ4X holds an advantage, offering up to 252 miles EPA on the FWD trim versus around 225 miles for the AWD-only Solterra. Both share similar DC fast-charging speeds, so neither has a major edge at the charger. For long-distance driving, the bZ4X’s extra range buffer makes it the more comfortable choice between the two.

Which is cheaper to maintain, the bZ4X or the Solterra?

Running costs are very similar since both share platform components, battery chemistry, and motor architecture with no combustion engine to service. Toyota’s broader dealer network in Africa and Asia generally means easier access to trained technicians and genuine parts. Outside South Africa, Solterra owners may face higher servicing costs due to limited authorised Subaru outlets.

Is the Subaru Solterra available in Nigeria or Africa?

The Solterra is not officially sold through Subaru dealers in Nigeria and arrives only through parallel import channels, typically from the US or UK as a used model. In South Africa, Subaru has a more established presence, though availability can vary by region. Always verify warranty coverage and charging adapter compatibility before purchasing a grey-market unit anywhere in Africa.

Which has better AWD — the bZ4X or the Solterra?

The Solterra’s dual-motor AWD is standard across all trims and includes X-MODE with two terrain settings — snow/dirt and deep snow/mud — plus Hill Descent Control. The bZ4X offers AWD only on higher trims and lacks the dedicated off-road traction software. For buyers who genuinely need all-surface capability, the Solterra’s AWD system is more purpose-built.

Related EV Comparisons

 
  Toyota bZ4X Touring Subaru Solterra
Price $38,000.00
Our Rating 5.8 6.2
Brand Toyota SUBARU
Category Electric Cars Electric Cars

MODEL

Full Model Name Subaru Solterra
Segment / Class Compact Electric SUV
Available Trims / Variants Toyota bZ4X Touring FWD
Toyota bZ4X Touring AWD
Premium, Limited, Touring, Touring Onyx Edition
Powertrain Options Dual-motor AWD (only option)

PRICE & AVAILABILITY

Base Price (USD) $38,495 MSRP
Availability Status Coming soon. Expected release 2026, Q1-Q2 On sale now
Markets Available US, Europe, Japan, and other global markets
Brand / Manufacturer Subaru Corporation

BATTERY & CHARGING

Battery Capacity 74.7 kWh total 72.8 kWh (2025); 74.7 kWh (2026)
Range (WLTP/CLTC/EPA) 348 mi WLTP - Toyota bZ4X Touring FWD
314 mi WLTP - Toyota bZ4X Touring AWD
Up to 227 mi EPA (2025); up to 288 mi (2026)
DC Charging (Max kW) CCS 150 kW max 100 kW (2025); 150 kW (2026)
Charging Time (10–80%) ~35 min (2025); ~28 min (2026)
AC Charging (Max kW) Type 2 11 kW
Type 2 22 kW
~9.5 hrs on Level 2
Battery Warranty Not specified
Energy Consumption ~16.0 kWh/100km

PERFORMANCE

Power Output (kW / hp) FWD 224 hp (165 kW) - Toyota bZ4X Touring FWD
AWD 380 hp (280 kW) - Toyota bZ4X Touring AWD
215 hp combined
0–100 km/h / 0-60 mph (seconds) The acceleration numbers are an easy way to compare car performance. We list either time from 0 to 100 km/h or time from 0 to 60mph, depending on which number(s) the manufacturers provide. The lower the acceleration time, the higher performance the car is. 6.90 s / 6.70 s
Motor Configuration Dual motor, front + rear, AWD
Torque (Nm) 265 Nm (195 lb-ft) 249 lb-ft (~338 Nm)
Top Speed (km/h / mph) 99 mph (160 km/h) 160 km/h (99 mph)

BODY & DIMENSIONS

Dimensions (L×W×H mm) 4830 x 1860 x 1670 mm (190.2 x 73.2 x 65.7 in) 4,690 × 1,860 × 1,650 mm
Trunk/Boot Capacity (L) EU: 600 l 421 L
Body Style 5 door SUV, 5 seats 5 door SUV, 5 seats
Kerb Weight (kg) 2,010 kg
Ground Clearance (mm) 240 mm (9.4 in) 8.3 in (211 mm)
Frunk/Bonnet Capacity (L) No Not available
Sunroof Not offered on most trims

SAFETY & DRIVER ASSISTANCE

ADAS Features EyeSight suite (full driver-assist package)
Autonomous Driving Level Level 2
Crash Test Ratings 5 stars
Over-the-Air (OTA) Safety Updates Not confirmed

COMFORT & SEATING

Seating Capacity Heated front seats 5
Seat Material Cloth (base), leatherette (higher trims)
Wireless Charging Limited trim and above

DISPLAYS & CONNECTIVITY

Centre Screen (inches) 14" touchscreen 12.3" touchscreen
Mirror Link / Apple CarPlay / Android Auto Wireless, both supported
Driver's Display (inches) 7" 7.0" LCD
Head-Up Display (HUD) No Not offered

TECHNOLOGY

Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) Not confirmed
Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) Not available
Over-the-Air Map Updates Not confirmed

ADDITIONAL SPECS

Headlight Type (LED/Matrix/Laser) LED
Adaptive Headlights Not standard
Sound System Brand Harman Kardon (higher trims)
Speaker Count N/A
Navigation System Higher trims
Face Recognition Not offered
Fingerprint Sensor Not offered
Remote Parking Not offered
Official Dealer Network Subaru dealers nationwide/globally
Service Interval Not specified
Roadside Assistance Included via Subaru ownership programs

Note

Data Source Subaru press materials, Autoblog, Cars.com, KBB, cars-data.com
Last Updated September 2026
Additional Notes 2025 MY pricing dropped $6,500 vs. 2024; 2026 MY brings a new battery/platform with major range and charging gains
Editor's Note The 2026 redesign closes much of the range/charging gap with rivals
  Toyota bZ4X Touring Subaru Solterra

Disclaimer Note

Specifications sourced from manufacturer data and may reflect WLTP, CLTC, or EPA test conditions. Import prices in your local are estimates based on grey-market landing costs and exclude duties, clearing fees, and local taxes. Figures are subject to change without notice. Always verify with your local importer before purchase. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct